Contact Us

Long Island University to Honor Outstanding Scholarship and Teaching

Eight faculty members to receive awards on April 24


Office of Public Relations
Brooklyn Campus,
Long Island University

Brooklyn, N.Y. - Long Island University plans to honor eight of its faculty members for excellence in scholarship and teaching, holding a special ceremony to present the 28th Biennial Abraham Krasnoff Memorial Awards for Lifetime Scholarly Achievement and the David Newton Awards for Teaching Excellence on Thursday, April 24.

"The Krasnoff and Newton Awards recognize the extraordinarily deep and diverse talents of our faculty members as scholars and teachers,” stated University Vice President for Academic Affairs Jeffrey Kane. “This year,” he added, “the award recipients represent academic disciplines from the ancient to the cutting edge, highlighting the range of the faculty’s expertise and broad-based commitment to excellence in research and teaching Long Island University is grateful to these individuals for their contributions to the University and its students."

The honorees are from the University’s Brooklyn Campus, Arnold & Marie Schwartz College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences, also in Brooklyn, and C.W. Post Campus, located in Brookville, N.Y. The awards ceremony takes place on Thursday, April 24, from 4 p.m. to 6 p.m., at the Kumble Theater for the Performing Arts on the Brooklyn Campus. A reception will follow.

The University presents Krasnoff Awards to faculty members chosen by a jury of distinguished scholars and artists outside the University, which reviews nominations and selects winners based on their scholarly contributions, especially those achieved while employed at Long Island University, and reputation among academic peers. Winners receive a $1,200 award and engraved medal. Formerly known as the Trustees Award for Scholarly Achievement, or TASA, the biennial award was officially re-named in 2007 in honor of the late Abraham Krasnoff, a former trustee of Long Island University.

This year, the Krasnoff Award winners are Sidhartha D. Ray, professor of toxicology at the Arnold and Marie Schwartz College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences, and Marshall Silverstein, professor of psychology at the C.W. Post Campus.

The Newton Awards, named for Dr. David Newton, a former executive vice president of Long Island University and endowed by former trustee Abraham Krasnoff, recognize faculty members who continually strive to maintain Long Island University's highest teaching standards. Winners are selected by a Campus-based committee of their peers using criteria such as teaching presentation, attitude, expectations of students, and professional development and knowledge. Each winner receives a $1,000 award and a glass “apple” award engraved with his or her name.

Newton Award winners from the Brooklyn Campus are Cecil K. Joseph, assistant professor of biochemistry at the College of Pharmacy, J. Patrice McSherry, professor of political science, and Srividhya Swaminathan, assistant professor of English. From C.W. Post, Newton Award winners are Roberto Domingo, associate professor of communication sciences and disorders, Glenn A. Magee, assistant professor of philosophy, and Shaireen Rasheen-Khan, associate professor of education.

"I am gratified by the award and by the recognition of the Long Island University community,” said Newton Award winner J. Patrice McSherry, echoing the sentiments of her colleagues. “I believe in the University’s mission of encouraging our students to become global citizens, in the broadest possible sense."

Posted 04/23/2008

  Return to Press Releases