Contact Us

The George Polk Award

Spike Lee, winner of an LIU George Polk Award for his documentary on the devastation of New Orleans caused by Hurricane Katrina, met LIU student Claudette Hall at the awards ceremony.Students benefit from LIU’s George Polk Award, one of journalism’s most coveted prizes, conferred annually by the university. Winners constitute a “Who’s Who” of notable American journalists and documentary filmmakers. They range from C.J. Chivers of The New York Times to filmmaker Spike Lee, from John McPhee of The New Yorker to Michael Hastings of Rolling Stone, and from Diane Sawyer of ABC to Christiane Amanpour of CNN. Journalism majors meet and network with notable Polk winners at the annual Polk Seminar and Polk Awards Luncheon.