Contact Us

Principals to Protest NYS Teacher Evaluations in LIU Post Forum

Elementary and high school principals will air issues with revised Annual Professional Performance Review at Feb. 15 event; panelists have signed petition protesting new evaluations


Morgan Lyle,Assistant Director of Public Relations
LIU Post,
Long Island University

Brookville, N.Y. – Elementary and high school principals from five Long Island school districts and two college professors will present a public forum on New York's new teacher evaluations on Wednesday, Feb. 15 at LIU Post (formerly the C.W. Post Campus of Long Island University.)

The principals oppose the new evaluations, which they say are detrimental to education. Under rules that took effect in September, test scores can account for up to 40 percent of a teacher's evaluation.

"At first glance, using test scores might seem like a reasonable approach to accountability," said a paper endorsed by the teachers who will take part in the forum at LIU Post. "As designed, however, these regulations carry unintended negative consequences for our schools and students that simply cannot be ignored."

The changes to the Annual Professional Performance Review became state law in 2010. In June 2011, New York State United Teachers sued the state over the evaluations.

In October, Carol Burris, principal of Southside High School in Rockville Centre, N.Y. and Sean Feeney, principal of The Wheatley School in East Williston, N.Y. posted an open letter in protest of the new evaluations. It has since been signed by hundreds of principals across the state.

The LIU Post forum will take place at 4:30 p.m. at Tilles Center at the LIU Post Campus, 720 Northern Boulevard, Brookville, N.Y. The moderator will be Dr. Arnold Dodge, assistant professor and chairman of the Department of Educational Leadership and Administration at LIU Post.

Panelists will include:
Dr. Carol Burris, principal, Southside High School, Rockville Centre Schools
Gail Casciano, principal, Nassakeag Elementary School, Three Village Schools
Dr. Sean Feeney, principal, The Wheatley School, East Williston Schools 
Sharon Fougner, principal, E.M. Baker School, Great Neck Schools
Dr. LaQuita Outlaw, principal, Bay Shore Middle School, Bay Shore Schools
Dr. Terry Orr, Professor, Bank Street College, Director, Future School Leaders Academy

Administrators, teachers, parents and other concerned citizens are invited to attend. There will be time for audience comments and questions. 

For RSVP use the following link:

Posted 02/13/2012

  Return to Press Releases