Contact Us

LIU Post Pioneers Women’s Lacrosse Wins Fourth National Championship


Rita Langdon,Associate Provost for Communications, Public Relations & Marketing
Long Island University, LIU Post

Group shot of team after their winOn Sunday, May 19, 2013, the LIU Post Pioneers Women's Lacrosse notched their fourth national championship with a 10-7 win over the Limestone Saints of Gaffney, S.C., in Division II NCAA finals in Mustang Stadium, Owings Mills, Md.

The win, which capped a perfect 20-0 season, gave the Pioneers back-to-back national championships under head coach Meghan McNamara, after having beaten Westchester 17-16 in 2012. LIU Post’s previous national championships were earned in 2001 and 2007 under head coach Karen MacCrate, and in 2012 under McNamara. It was the second trip to the big game for Limestone College.

The game pitted #1 ranked Pioneers against the #2 ranked Saints, which went into the contest with the top ranked scoring defense in the division. But led by senior accounting major Ashley Olen (East Islip, N.Y.) and junior psychology major Jackie Sileo (Wantagh, N.Y.), two of the league’s most prolific offensive producers, the Pioneers proved too much for the Saints. LIU Post went into halftime up 4-3, and while Limestone was able to briefly take the lead 5-4 early in the second half, the Pioneers took over with a 20-minute, 6-0 run and went up 10-5 before the Saints could get back on the board.

Limestone scored twice in the waning minutes, but it was not enough to thwart the Pioneers' perfect 20-0 season and bid for back-to-back national crowns.


Posted 05/19/2013

  Return to Press Releases