Contact Us

LIU Post Sustainability Committee

Established in 2010, the LIU Post Sustainability Committee is comprised of administrators, faculty, and students, who meet with one goal in mind: to make LIU Post a more sustainable place.

The committee, chaired by Dr. Scott Carlin, has introduced many new initiatives: a sustainable film series, an annual sustainability luncheon, and the newly launched Green Office program.

In the spring of 2012, the committee published a Vision document, detailing past accomplishments, current initiatives, and future goals for sustainability at LIU Post. The document reviews sustainable practices relating to Facilities Services, Dining Services, Curriculum, and Campus Recycling. The Vision document is available here.

The committee, the LIU Post Recycling Program, and the Department of Earth and Environmental Science pooled their resources so that LIU Post could become a member of AASHE (Association for the Advancement of Sustainability in Higher Education), beginning in 2011.

We welcome and value input from everybody on campus. It doesn’t matter if you are a student, professor, administrator, or staff member. Our meetings are open to everyone. The committee strongly encourages and mentors student leadership; student leaders initiated several of the committee’s past accomplishments.

Schedule when committee meets:
Monday, October 29, 2012
Tuesday, November 20, 2012
Tuesday, December 11, 2012
Monday, February 13, 2013

All meetings are from 12:45pm-1:45 p.m. and will be held in Hillwood Commons, Room 106

For more information, please contact Dr. Scott Carlin at