MUSIC

Music Faculty

Brass | Coaching and Accompaniment | Conducting | Ensembles | Guitar | Jazz | Music Education | Music History, Technology, & Theory | Percussion | Piano | Strings | Voice | Woodwinds

 

BRASS

Andrew Madej (Tuba, Euphonium)
Director, LIU Post Brass Ensemble
B.M., Oberlin Conservatory of Music
M.M., New England Conservatory of Music
andrew.madej@liu.edu

Sharon Moe (French Horn)
B.A., St. Olaf College
M.M. Manhattan School of Music
sharon.moe@liu.edu

Bradley Siroky (Trumpet)
B.M., M.M., Manhattan School of Music
bradley.siroky@liu.edu

Ronald Stanton (Trombone, Euphonium)
Director, Brass Studies
B.S., Hofstra University
M.M., Queens College, CUNY
ronald.stanton@liu.edu

[Back to Top]

COACHING AND ACCOMPANIMENT

Christine Doré (Instrumental Coaching)
B.M., New England Conservatory
M.M., Mannes College of Music
christine.dore@liu.edu

Richard Iacona (Vocal Jazz Coaching)
B.S., University of North Carolina at Pembroke
M.A., Long Island University
richard.iacona@liu.edu

Heawon Kim (Instrumental Coaching)
Member, Pierrot Consort
B.M., M.M., Manhattan School of Music
violin-saw.com/heawonkimpianist.html
heawon.kim@liu.edu

Victoria Schwartzman (Vocal Coaching)
B.M., Piano Performance, Longy School of Music of Bard College
M.M., Piano Performance, Longy School of Music of Bard College
Artist Diploma, Longy School of Music of Bard College
Graduate Diploma, Collaborative Piano, New England Conservatory
victoria.schwartzman@liu.edu

[Back to Top]

CONDUCTING

Susan Deaver
Co-Founder & Festival Director, LIU Post Chamber Music Festival
Conductor, Chamber Music Festival Orchestra
Director, LIU Post Flute Ensemble
Member, Pierrot Consort
B.M., M.M., D.M.A., Manhattan School of Music
susan.deaver@liu.edu

Maureen Hynes
Director of Orchestral and String Studies
Director, LIU Post Orchestra
Director, String Ensemble
Director, Merriweather Consort
Member, Pierrot Consort
Co-Founder, LIU Post Chamber Music Festival
B.M., M.M., Manhattan School of Music
maureen.hynes@liu.edu

James McRoy
Director, Bands
Director, LIU Post Wind Symphony
Director, LIU Post Wind Ensemble
Director, LIU Post Pep Band
B.A., M.S., Queens College, CUNY (Aaron Copland School of Music)
D.A., Ball State University
http://jamesmcroy.net
james.mcroy@liu.edu

Jennifer Scott Miceli
Director, Music Education
Director, Long Island Sound Vocal Jazz
Conductor, LIU Post Women's Choir
B.M., University of Hartford (Hartt School of Music)
M.M., Ph.D., University of Rochester (Eastman School of Music)
jennifer.miceli@liu.edu

[Back to Top]

ENSEMBLES

Bands – James McRoy
Director, Bands
Director, LIU Post Wind Symphony
Director, LIU Post Wind Ensemble
Director, LIU Post Pep Band
B.A., M.S., Queens College, CUNY (Aaron Copland School of Music)
D.A., Ball State University
http://jamesmcroy.net
james.mcroy@liu.edu

Brass – Andrew Madej
Director, LIU Post Brass Ensemble
B.M., Oberlin Conservatory of Music
M.M., New England Conservatory of Music
andrew.madej@liu.edu

Chorus – Emily Klonowski
Conductor, Long Island University Chorus
B.M., Long Island University
M.A., Long Island University
emily.klonowski@liu.edu

Flute – Susan Deaver
Co-Founder & Festival Director, LIU Post Chamber Music Festival
Conductor, Chamber Music Festival Orchestra
Director, LIU Post Flute Ensemble
Member, Pierrot Consort
B.M., M.M., D.M.A., Manhattan School of Music
susan.deaver@liu.edu

Guitar – Harris Becker
Director, Guitar Studies
Director, LIU Post Guitar Ensemble
Director, Long Island Guitar Festival
B.A., M.A., Long Island University
www.harrisbecker.com
harris.becker@liu.edu

Jazz Combo (Instrumental) – Matt Wilson and Jeff Lederer
Matt Wilson
Co-Director, LIU Post Jazz Combo
B.M., Wichita State University
matt.wilson@liu.edu

Jeff Lederer
Co-Director, LIU Post Jazz Combo
B.A., Oberlin College
M.M., Woodwind Performance, Western Michigan University
jeffrey.lederer@liu.edu

Jazz (Vocal) – Jennifer Scott Miceli
Director, Music Education
Director, Long Island Sound Vocal Jazz
Conductor, LIU Post Women's Choir
B.M., University of Hartford (Hartt School of Music)
M.M., Ph.D., University of Rochester (Eastman School of Music)
jennifer.miceli@liu.edu

Orchestra – Maureen Hynes
Director of Orchestral and String Studies
Director, LIU Post Orchestra
Director, String Ensemble
Director, Merriweather Consort
Member, Pierrot Consort
Co-Founder, LIU Post Chamber Music Festival
B.M., M.M., Manhattan School of Music
maureen.hynes@liu.edu

Percussion – Frank Cassara
Director, Percussion Studies
Director, LIU Post Percussion Ensemble
B.M., M.M., Manhattan School of Music
www.frankcassara.com
frank.cassara@liu.edu

String – Maureen Hynes
Director of Orchestral and String Studies
Director, LIU Post Orchestra
Director, String Ensemble
Director, Merriweather Consort
Member, Pierrot Consort
Co-Founder, LIU Post Chamber Music Festival
B.M., M.M., Manhattan School of Music
maureen.hynes@liu.edu

[Back to Top]

GUITAR

Harris Becker (Classical Guitar and Lute)
Director, Guitar Studies
Director, LIU Post Guitar Ensemble
Director, Long Island Guitar Festival
B.A., M.A., Long Island University
www.harrisbecker.com
harris.becker@liu.edu

James Erickson
B.F.A., M.A, Long Island University
www.ericksonguitar.net
james.erickson@liu.edu

Mark Marino (Jazz Guitar)
mark.marino@liu.edu

[Back to Top]

JAZZ

Richard Iacona (Jazz Piano, Vocal Jazz Coaching)
B.S., University of North Carolina at Pembroke
M.A., Long Island University
richard.iacona@liu.edu

Jeff Lederer (Jazz Saxophone)
Co-Director, LIU Post Jazz Combo
B.A., Oberlin College
M.M., Woodwind Performance, Western Michigan University
jeffrey.lederer@liu.edu

Mark Marino (Jazz Guitar)
mark.marino@liu.edu

Jennifer Scott Miceli
Director, Music Education
Director, Long Island Sound Vocal Jazz
Conductor, LIU Post Women's Choir
B.M., University of Hartford (Hartt School of Music)
M.M., Ph.D., University of Rochester (Eastman School of Music)
jennifer.miceli@liu.edu

Brian Pareschi, Jazz Trumpet
B.A., University of Rochester
M.M., Manhattan School of Music
brian.pareschi@liu.edu

John Ray (Jazz Bass)
Manhattan School of Music
john.ray@liu.edu

Matt Wilson (Jazz Drums)
Co-Director, LIU Post Jazz Combo
B.M., Wichita State University
matt.wilson@liu.edu

[Back to Top]

MUSIC EDUCATION

James Brosnan
B.S. Information Technology, University of Phoenix
M.S. Music Education, Long Island University
james.brosnan@liu.edu

Gwendolyn Carroll
B.A., Bethune-Cookman College
M.A. Teachers College, Columbia University
gwendolyn.carroll@liu.edu

Edmund Chiarello
B.S. Music Education, M.A. Secondary Education, Hofstra University
Specialist Diploma; School Administration and Supervision, CUNY at Queens College
edmund.chiarello@liu.edu

Levana V. Cohen
B.M., Washington State University
M.M., Stony Brook University
D.M.A., Stony Brook University
levana.cohen@liu.edu

Karen Gellert
B.A., M.M., Manhattan School of Music
karen.gellert@liu.edu

Danielle McRoy
B.A., State University of New York at Geneseo
M.A., Long Island University
Ed.D., Teachers College, Columbia University
danielle.mcroy@liu.edu

James McRoy
Director, Bands
Director, LIU Post Wind Symphony
Director, LIU Post Wind Ensemble
Director, LIU Post Pep Band
B.A., M.S., Queens College, CUNY (Aaron Copland School of Music)
D.A., Ball State University
http://jamesmcroy.net
james.mcroy@liu.edu

John Meschi
Director, Music Technology
B.S., New York University
M.A., Long Island University
http://myweb.liu.edu/jmeschi/
john.meschi@liu.edu

Jennifer Scott Miceli
Director, Music Education
Director, Long Island Sound Vocal Jazz
Conductor, LIU Post Women's Choir
B.M., University of Hartford (Hartt School of Music)
M.M., Ph.D., University of Rochester (Eastman School of Music)
jennifer.miceli@liu.edu

Anthony Pinelli
B.M. Music Education, Ithaca College
M.L.S., State University of New York at Stony Brook
anthony.pinell@liu.edu

Elise Sobol
B.A., New School for Social Research
M.A., Teachers College, Columbia University
elise.sobol@liu.edu

[Back to Top]

MUSIC HISTORY, TECHNOLOGY, & THEORY

Gwendolyn Carroll (Keyboard Harmony)
B.A. Bethune-Cookman College
M.A. Teachers College, Columbia University
gwendolyn.carroll@liu.edu

Richard Iacona (Theory, Composition)
B.S., University of North Carolina at Pembroke
M.A., Long Island University
richard.iacona@liu.edu

Paul Kim (History, Keyboard Harmony)
Graduate Music Adviser
B.M., M.M., Manhattan School of Music
Ph.D., New York University
paul.kim@liu.edu

John Meschi (Technology)
Director, Music Technology
B.S., New York University
M.A., Long Island University
myweb.liu.edu/jmeschi
john.meschi@liu.edu

Carl Strommen (Theory, Composition)
B.A., Long Island University
M.A., City University of New York
carl.strommen@liu.edu

Stephanie Watt (Theory, Sight-Singing)
Director, Music Theory
Director, Piano Studies
Director, Keyboard Club Concert Series
B.F.A., M.A., Long Island University
stephanie.watt@liu.edu

[Back to Top]

PERCUSSION

Frank Cassara
Director, Percussion Studies
Director, LIU Post Percussion Ensemble
B.M., M.M., Manhattan School of Music
www.frankcassara.com
frank.cassara@liu.edu

Matt Wilson (Jazz Percussion)
Co-Director, LIU Post Jazz Combo
B.M., Wichita State University
matt.wilson@liu.edu

[Back to Top]

PIANO

Eugene Feigin
B.M., Music College of Moscow 
M.M., Gorky State Conservatory
eugene.feigin@liu.edu

David Holzman
B.M., Mannes College of Music
M.M., Queens College, CUNY (Aaron Copland School of Music)
www.battlemuse.com
david.holzman@liu.edu

Richard Iacona (Jazz)
B.S., University of North Carolina at Pembroke
M.A., Long Island University
richard.iacona@liu.edu

AeRee Kim
M.M., The Juilliard School of Music
D.M.A., State University of New York at Stony Brook
aeree.kim@liu.edu

Paul Kim
Graduate Music Adviser
B.M., M.M., Manhattan School of Music
Ph.D., New York University
paul.kim@liu.edu

Stephanie Watt
Director, Piano Studies
Director, Music Theory
Director, Keyboard Club Concert Series
B.F.A., M.A., Long Island University
stephanie.watt@liu.edu

[Back to Top]

STRINGS

Karen Gellert (Bass)
B.A., M.M., Manhattan School of Music
karen.gellert@liu.edu

Maureen Hynes (Cello)
Director of Orchestral and String Studies
Director, LIU Post Orchestra
Director, String Ensemble
Director, Merriweather Consort
Member, Pierrot Consort
Co-Founder, LIU Post Chamber Music Festival
B.M., M.M., Manhattan School of Music
maureen.hynes@liu.edu

John Ray (Jazz Bass)
Manhattan School of Music
john.ray@liu.edu

Veronica Salas (Viola)
Member, Pierrot Consort
D.M.A., M.M.A., B.M.A., Juilliard School of Music
veronica.sales@liu.edu

Dale Stuckenbruck (Violin)
Assistant Director, LIU Post Chamber Music Festival
Member, Pierrot Consort
B.M., North Carolina School of Performing Arts
M.M., D.M.A., Manhattan School of Music
violin-saw.com/daleviolinist.html
dalestruckenbruck@liu.edu

[Back to Top]

VOICE

Jeffrey Behrens (Tenor)
B.F.A., Carnegie Mellon
M.M., The Julliard School
Artist Diploma; Julliard Opera Center, The Julliard School
jeffrey.behrens@liu.edu

Barbara Fusco (Mezzo-Soprano)
B.A., Graduate Studies, Long Island University
barbara.fusco@liu.edu

Marla Waterman (Soprano)
B.A., Wells College
M.M., Northwestern University
maria.waterman@liu.edu

[Back to Top]

WOODWINDS

Levana V. Cohen (Clarinet)
B.M., Washington State University
M.M., Stony Brook University
D.M.A., Stony Brook University
levana.cohen@liu.edu

Susan Deaver (Flute)
Co-Founder & Festival Director, LIU Post Chamber Music Festival
Conductor, Chamber Music Festival Orchestra
Director, LIU Post Flute Ensemble
Member, Pierrot Consort
B.M., M.M., D.M.A., Manhattan School of Music
susan.deaver@liu.edu

Jeff Lederer (Jazz Saxophone)
Co-Director, LIU Post Jazz Combo
B.A., Oberlin College
M.M., Woodwind Performance, Western Michigan University
jeffrey.lederer@liu.edu

Karla Moe (Flute)
Director, Woodwind Studies
B.A., St. Olaf College
M.M., Manhattan School of Music
karla.moe@liu.edu

Timothy Ruedeman (Saxophone)
B.M., Oberlin Conservatory
M.A., Ph.D., New York University
timothy.ruedeman@liu.edu

Valerie Sulzinski (Oboe, English horn)
B.F.A., State University of New York at Purchase
M.M., Queens College, CUNY (Aaron Copland School of Music)
valerie.sulzinski@liu.edu


CONTACT

College of Arts, Communications & Design
Post-CACD@LIU.edu