Contact Us

Faculty

Brass | Coaching | Conducting | Ensembles | Guitar | Music Education | Music History, Technology, & Theory |
Percussion | Piano | Strings | Voice | Woodwinds

BRASS

Andrew Madej (Tuba, Euphonium)
B.M., Oberlin Conservatory of Music;
M.M., New England Conservatory of Music
andrew.madej@liu.ed

Sharon Moe (French Horn)
B.A., St. Olaf College;
M.M. Manhattan School of Music
sharon.moe@liu.edu

Bradley Siroky (Trumpet)
B.M., M.M., Manhattan School of Music
bradley.siroky@liu.edu

Ronald Stanton (Trombone, Euphonium)
Director, Brass Studies
B.S., Hofstra University;
M.M., Queens College, CUNY
ronald.stanton@liu.edu

 

COACHING

Christine Doré (Instrumental)
B.M., New England Conservatory;
M.M., Mannes College of Music
christine.dore@liu.edu

Heawon Kim (Instrumental)
B.M., M.M., Manhattan School of Music
heawon.kim@liu.edu

Chun Wei Kang (Vocal)
chunwei.kang@liu.edu

 

CONDUCTING

Susan Deaver
Co-Founder & Festival Director, LIU Post Chamber Music Festival
Conductor, Chamber Music Festival Orchestra
Director, LIU Post Flute Ensemble
B.M., M.M., D.M.A., Manhattan School of Music
susan.deaver@liu.edu

Maureen Hynes
Director of Orchestral and String Studies
Director, LIU Post Orchestra
Director, String Ensemble
Director, Merriweather Consort
Co-Founder, LIU Post Chamber Music Festival
B.M., M.M., Manhattan School of Music
maureen.hynes@liu.edu

James McRoy
Director, Bands
Director, LIU Post Wind Symphony
Director, LIU Post Wind Ensemble
Director, LIU Post Pep Band
B.A., M.S., Queens College, CUNY (Aaron Copland School of Music);
D.A., Ball State University
james.mcroy@liu.edu

Jennifer Scott Miceli
Chair, Department of Music
Director, Music Education
Director, Long Island Sound - Vocal Jazz
B.M., University of Hartford (Hartt School of Music);
M.M., Ph.D., University of Rochester (Eastman School of Music)
jennifer.miceli@liu.edu

Mark Shapiro
Director, Choral Studies
Associate Professor of Music
Conductor, Long Island University Chorus
Conductor, LIU Post Chamber Singers
B.A., Yale University;
Graduate Performance Diploma, Orchestral Conducting, Peabody Institute of Johns Hopkins University;
Diplome de direction d'orchestre, Ecole Normale de Musique de Paris;
D.M.A., Choral Conducting, Stony Brook University
mark.shapiro@liu.edu

 

ENSEMBLES

Bands - James McRoy
Director, Bands
Director, LIU Post Wind Symphony
Director, LIU Post Wind Ensemble
Director, LIU Post Pep Band
B.A., M.S., Queens College, CUNY (Aaron Copland School of Music);
D.A., Ball State University
james.mcroy@liu.edu

Brass - Andrew Madej
Director, LIU Post Brass Ensemble
B.M., Oberlin Conservatory of Music;
M.M., New England Conservatory of Music
andrew.madej@liu.ed

Choral - Mark Shapiro
Director, Choral Studies
Associate Professor of Music
Conductor, Long Island University Chorus
Conductor, LIU Post Chamber Singers
B.A., Yale University;
Graduate Performance Diploma, Orchestral Conducting, Peabody Institute of Johns Hopkins University;
Diplome de direction d'orchestre, Ecole Normale de Musique de Paris;
D.M.A., Choral Conducting, Stony Brook University
mark.shapiro@liu.edu

Flute - Susan Deaver
Co-Founder & Festival Director, LIU Post Chamber Music Festival
Conductor, Chamber Music Festival Orchestra
Director, LIU Post Flute Ensemble
B.M., M.M., D.M.A., Manhattan School of Music
susan.deaver@liu.edu

Guitar - Harris Becker
Director, Guitar Studies
Director, LIU Post Guitar Ensemble
Director, Long Island Guitar Festival
B.A., M.A., Long Island University
harris.becker@liu.edu
www.harrisbecker.com

Jazz (Instrumental) - T.K. Blue
Assistant Professor of Music
Director, Jazz Studies
Director, LIU Post Jazz Ensemble
B.A., New York University;
M.A., Teachers College, Columbia University
eugene.rhynie@liu.edu
www.tkblue.com

Jazz (Vocal) - Jennifer Scott Miceli
Chair, Department of Music
Director, Music Education
Director, Long Island Sound - Vocal Jazz
B.M., University of Hartford (Hartt School of Music);
M.M., Ph.D., University of Rochester (Eastman School of Music)
jennifer.miceli@liu.edu

Madrigals - Jeffrey Johnson
Director, LIU Post Madrigal Singers
B.S., Ball State University;
M.A., Ed.M. Teachers College, Columbia University
jeffrey.johnson@liu.edu

Merriweather Consort - Maureen Hynes
Director of Orchestral and String Studies
Director, LIU Post Orchestra
Director, String Ensemble
Director, Merriweather Consort
Co-Founder, LIU Post Chamber Music Festival
B.M., M.M., Manhattan School of Music
maureen.hynes@liu.edu

Orchestra - Maureen Hynes
Director of Orchestral and String Studies
Director, LIU Post Orchestra
Director, String Ensemble
Director, Merriweather Consort
Co-Founder, LIU Post Chamber Music Festival
B.M., M.M., Manhattan School of Music
maureen.hynes@liu.edu

Percussion - Frank Cassara
Director, Percussion Studies
Director, LIU Post Percussion Ensemble
B.M., M.M., Manhattan School of Music
frank.cassara@liu.edu
www.frankcassara.com

String - Maureen Hynes
Director of Orchestral and String Studies
Director, LIU Post Orchestra
Director, String Ensemble
Director, Merriweather Consort
Co-Founder, LIU Post Chamber Music Festival
B.M., M.M., Manhattan School of Music
maureen.hynes@liu.edu

 

GUITAR

Harris Becker (Classical Guitar and Lute)
Director, Guitar Studies
Director, LIU Post Guitar Ensemble
Director, Long Island Guitar Festival
B.A., M.A., Long Island University
harris.becker@liu.edu
www.harrisbecker.com

Pasquale Bianculli ( Classical Guitar)
M.M., State University of New York at Stony Brook
pasquale.bianculli@liu.edu

James Erickson
B.F.A., M.A, Long Island University
james.erickson@liu.edu

Mark Marino (Jazz Guitar)
mark.marino@liu.edu

 

MUSIC EDUCATION

James Brosnan
B.S. Information Technology, University of Phoenix
M.S. Music Education, Long Island University
james.brosnan@liu.edu

Gwendolyn Carroll
B.A., Bethune-Cookman College;
M.A. Teachers College, Columbia University
gwendolyn.carroll@liu.edu

Edmund Chiarello
B.S. Music Education, M.A. Secondary Education, Hofstra University
Specialist Diploma; School Administration and Supervision, CUNY at Queens College
edmund.chiarello@liu.edu

Elaine Gates
B.S., New York University;
M.A., State University of New York New Paltz
elaine.gates@liu.edu

Karen Gellert (Bass)
B.A., M.M., Manhattan School of Music
karen.gellert@liu.edu

Ruth Golden (Soprano)
Director, Vocal Studies
A.B., University of California, Berkeley;
M.B.A., University of California, Los Angeles;
M.M., University of Southern California
ruth.golden@liu.edu

Danielle McRoy
B.A., State University of New York at Geneseo;
M.A., Long Island University;
Ed.D., Teachers College, Columbia University
danielle.mcroy@liu.edu

James McRoy
Director, Bands
Director, LIU Post Wind Symphony
Director, LIU Post Wind Ensemble
Director, LIU Post Pep Band
B.A., M.S., Queens College, CUNY (Aaron Copland School of Music);
D.A., Ball State University
james.mcroy@liu.edu

John Meschi
Director, Music Technology
B.S., New York University;
M.A., Long Island University
http://myweb.liu.edu/jmeschi/
john.meschi@liu.edu

Joseph Pergola
B.A., Dowling College;
M.A., State University of New York at Stony Brook
joseph.pergola@liu.edu

Jennifer Scott Miceli
Chair, Department of Music
Director, Music Education
Director, Long Island Sound - Vocal Jazz
B.M., University of Hartford (Hartt School of Music);
M.M., Ph.D., University of Rochester (Eastman School of Music)
jennifer.miceli@liu.edu

Kenneth Schwartzman
B.M., Julliard School;
M.A., Adelphi University
kenneth.schwartzman@liu.edu

Elise Sobol
B.A., New School for Social Research;
M.A., Teachers College, Columbia University
elise.sobol@liu.edu

 

MUSIC HISTORY, TECHNOLOGY, & THEORY

T.K. Blue (Theory)
Assistant Professor of Music
Director, Jazz Studies
Director, LIU Post Jazz Ensemble
B.A., New York University;
M.A., Teachers College, Columbia University
eugene.rhynie@liu.edu
www.tkblue.com

Gwendolyn Carroll (Keyboard Harmony)
B.A. Bethune-Cookman College;
M.A. Teachers College, Columbia University
gwendolyn.carroll@liu.edu

Genevieve Chinn (History)
Director, Music History
B.S., M.A., Ph.D., Columbia University
genevieve.chin@liu.edu

Christopher Hopkins (Sight-Singing)
B.A., M.A., Boston College;
B.A., M.A., Long Island University
christopher.hopkins@liu.edu

Richard Iacona (Theory, Composition)
B.S., University of North Carolina at Pembroke;
M.A., Long Island University
richard.iacona@liu.edu

Paul Kim (History, Keyboard Harmony)
Graduate Music Adviser,
B.M., M.M., Manhattan School of Music;
Ph.D., New York University
paul.kim@liu.edu

John Meschi (Technology)
Director, Music Technology
B.S., New York University;
M.A., Long Island University
myweb.liu.edu/jmesch
john.meschi@liu.edu

Mark Shapiro (Theory)
Director, Choral Studies
Associate Professor of Music
Conductor, Long Island University Chorus
Conductor, LIU Post Chamber Singers
B.A., Yale University;
Graduate Performance Diploma, Orchestral Conducting, Peabody Institute of Johns Hopkins University;
Diplome de direction d'orchestre, Ecole Normale de Musique de Paris;
D.M.A., Choral Conducting, Stony Brook University
mark.shapiro@liu.edu

Carl Strommen (Theory, Composition)
B.A., Long Island University;
M.A., City University of New York
carl.strommen@liu.edu

Stephanie Watt (Theory, Sight-Singing)
Director, Music Theory
Director, Piano Studies
Director, Keyboard Club Concert Series
B.F.A., M.A., Long Island University
stephanie.watt@liu.edu

 

PERCUSSION

Frank Cassara
Director, Percussion Studies
Director, LIU Post Percussion Ensemble
B.M., M.M., Manhattan School of Music
frank.cassara@liu.edu
www.frankcassara.com

Matt Wilson (Jazz Percussion)
B.M., Wichita State University
matt.wilson@liu.edu

 

PIANO

Eugene Feigin
B.M., Music College of Moscow;
M.M., Gorky State Conservatory
eugene.feigin@liu.edu

David Holzman
B.M., Mannes College of Music;
M.M., Queens College, CUNY (Aaron Copland School of Music)
Web: www.battlemuse.com
david.holzman@liu.edu

Richard Iacona (Jazz)
B.S., University of North Carolina at Pembroke;
M.A., Long Island University
richard.iacona@liu.edu

AeRee Kim
M.M., The Juilliard School of Music;
D.M.A., State University of New York at Stony Brook
aeree.kim@liu.edu

Paul Kim
Graduate Music Adviser
B.M., M.M., Manhattan School of Music;
Ph.D., New York University
paul.kim@liu.edu

Gary Klein
B.F.A., State University of New York at Purchase
garry.klein@liu.edu

Stephanie Watt
Director, Piano Studies
Director, Music Theory
Director, Keyboard Club Concert Series
B.F.A., M.A., Long Island University
stephanie.watt@liu.edu

 

STRINGS

Karen Gellert (Bass)
B.A., M.M., Manhattan School of Music
karen.gellert@liu.edu

Maureen Hynes (Cello)
Director of Orchestral and String Studies
Director, LIU Post Orchestra
Director, String Ensemble
Director, Merriweather Consort
Co-Founder, LIU Post Chamber Music Festival
B.M., M.M., Manhattan School of Music
maureen.hynes@liu.edu

John Ray (Jazz Bass)
Manhattan School of Music
john.ray@liu.edu

Veronica Salas (Viola)
D.M.A., M.M.A., B.M.A., Juilliard School of Music
veronica.sales@liu.edu

Dale Stuckenbruck (Violin)
Assistant Director, LIU Post Chamber Music Festival
B.M., North Carolina School of Performing Arts;
M.M., D.M.A., Manhattan School of Music
dalestruckenbruck@liu.edu

 

VOICE

Jeffrey Behrens (Tenor)
B.F.A., Carnegie Mellon
M.M., The Julliard School
Artist Diploma; Julliard Opera Center, The Julliard School
jeffrey.behrens@liu.edu

Barbara Fusco (Mezzo-Soprano)
B.A., Graduate Studies, Long Island University
barbara.fusco@liu.edu

Ruth Golden (Soprano)
Director, Vocal Studies
A.B., University of California, Berkeley;
M.B.A., University of California, Los Angeles;
M.M., University of Southern California
ruth.golden@liu.edu

Neal Harrelson (Tenor)
B.M., Shorter College
M.M., University of Tennessee
Artist Diploma; Opera Performance, Cincinnati College Conservatory of Music
neal.harrelson@liu.edu

Lisa Holsberg (Soprano)
B.M., M.F.A., University of California at Irvine;
Ed.M., Teachers College, Columbia University
lisa.holsberg@liu.edu

Jeffery Johnson (Baritone)
Director, LIU Post Madrigal Singers
B.S., Ball State University
M.A., Ed.M., Teachers College, Columbia University
jeffrey.johnson@liu.edu

Anthony Pulgram (Tenor)
B.A., Duke University;
M.M., Manhattan School of Music;
Graduate Diploma, Salzburg Mozarteum Akademia
anthony.pulgram@liu.edu

Marla Waterman (Soprano)
B.A., Wells College;
M.M., Northwestern University
maria.waterman@liu.edu

 

WOODWINDS

T.K. Blue (Jazz Saxophone)
Assistant Professor of Music
Director, Jazz Studies
Director, LIU Post Jazz Ensemble
B.A., New York University;
M.A., Teachers College, Columbia University
eugene.rhynie@liu.edu
www.tkblue.com

Susan Deaver (Flute)
Co-Founder & Festival Director, LIU Post Chamber Music Festival
Conductor, Chamber Music Festival Orchestra
Director, LIU Post Flute Ensemble
B.M., M.M., D.M.A., Manhattan School of Music
susan.deaver@liu.edu

Karla Moe (Flute)
Director, Woodwind Studies
B.A., St. Olaf College;
M.M., Manhattan School of Music
karla.moe@liu.edu

Timothy Ruedeman (Saxophone)
B.M., Oberlin Conservatory;
M.A., Ph.D., New York University
timothy.ruedeman@liu.edu

David Sapadin (Clarinet)
B.M., University of Southern California;
M.M., Manhattan School of Music;
Professional Studies Certificate, Mannes School of Music
david.sapadin@liu.edu

Mark Snyder (Oboe, English horn)
B.A., University of Connecticut;
M.M., Manhattan School of Music;
D.M.A., Rutgers University
mark.snyder@liu.edu

Valerie Sulzinski (Oboe, English horn)
B.F.A., State University of New York at Purchase;
M.M., Queens College, CUNY (Aaron Copland School of Music)
valerie.sulzinski@liu.edu

Karl Vilcins (Bassoon)
B.M., Ohio State University
M.M., Manhattan School of Music
karl.vilcins@liu.edu