Academic Calendar

ACADEMICS

Academic Calendar

Click on a semester below to see the Academic Calendar for that semester.


Fall 2017

LIU Global’s Registration Deadline for Spring 2018 is: Friday, October 20, 2017

Asia-Pacific Program

Saturday, September 2

Arrive in Fiji – semester begins

Saturday, September 2 – Friday, September 22

Program in Fiji

Wednesday, September 6 – Tuesday, September 19

Program Changes

Friday, September 22

Flight: Fiji to Australia

Saturday, September 23 – Saturday, November 25

Program in Australia

Friday, October 20

Midterm evaluations due to carlett.thomas@liu.edu

Friday, November 10 

Last day for partial withdrawal

Sunday, November 26 – Sunday, December 10 Program in New Zealand

Tuesday, December 5

Change of grade due for INCs from the previous fall semester

Sunday, December 10

Semester ends

Thursday, December 14

Last day for a full withdrawal

Last day to complete withdrawal appeal process

Friday, December 15

Deadline to post grades

 

China Center

Monday, August 28

Semester begins

Wednesday, September 6 – Tuesday, September 19

Program Changes

Friday, October 20

Midterm evaluations due to carlett.thomas@liu.edu

Friday, November 10 

Last day for partial withdrawal

Tuesday, December 5

Change of grade due for INCs from the previous fall semester

Friday, December 8

Semester ends

Thursday, December 14

Last day for a full withdrawal

Last day to complete withdrawal appeal process

Friday, December 15

Deadline to post grades

 

Costa Rica Center

Tuesday, August 29 – Wednesday, August 30

Orientation for new students in Brooklyn, NY

Wednesday, August 30

Travel as a group to Costa Rica

Thursday, August 31

Semester begins

Wednesday, September 6 – Tuesday, September 19

Program Changes

Friday, October 20

Midterm evaluations due to carlett.thomas@liu.edu

Friday, November 10 

Last day for partial withdrawal

Tuesday, December 5

Change of grade due for INCs from the previous fall semester

Friday, December 8

Semester ends

Thursday, December 14

Last day for a full withdrawal

Last day to complete withdrawal appeal process

Friday, December 15

Deadline to post grades

 

Europe Program

Saturday, August 19

Students arrive in London

Saturday, August 19 Saturday, August 26

London Program at South Bank University

Saturday, August 26 Monday, September 4

Berlin Program

Monday, September 4 – Thursday, November 9

Alcalá Program

Tuesday, September 5 – Wednesday, September 6

Orientation Sessions

Wednesday, September 6 – Tuesday, September 19

Program Changes

Friday, October 20

Midterm evaluations due to carlett.thomas@liu.edu

Friday, November 10 – Friday, November 24
Morocco Program

Friday, November 10 

Last day for partial withdrawal

Monday, November 27 – Friday, December 8

Alcalá Program

Tuesday, December 5

Change of grade due for INCs from the previous fall semester

Friday, December 8

Semester ends

Thursday, December 14

Last day for a full withdrawal

Last day to complete withdrawal appeal process

Friday, December 15

Deadline to post grades

 

IRIS Program

Monday, August 21 – Sunday, September 3

Arrive at IRIS location (consult with relevant center/program director as well as Director of IRIS about location-specific arrival dates)

Monday, September 4           

IRIS classes begin

Wednesday, September 6 – Tuesday, September 19

Program Changes

Friday, October 20

Midterm evaluations due to carlett.thomas@liu.edu

Friday, November 10 

Last day for partial withdrawal

Tuesday, December 5

Change of grade due for INCs from the previous fall semester

Sunday, December 10

Semester ends

Thursday, December 14

Last day for a full withdrawal

Last day to complete withdrawal appeal process

Friday, December 15

Deadline to post grades

 

New York Center

Wednesday, September 6

Classes begin

Wednesday, September 6 – Tuesday, September 19

Program Changes

Friday, September 15

Enrollment verification deadline

Awarding of September degrees

Friday, October 20

Last day to apply for January degree
Midterm evaluations due to carlett.thomas@liu.edu

Friday, November 10

Last day for partial withdrawal

Wednesday, November 22

Wednesday follows a Friday schedule

Thursday, November 23 – Sunday, November 26

Recess

Monday, November 27

Classes resume

Thursday, December 14

Weekday classes end

Last day for a full withdrawal

Last day to complete withdrawal appeal process

Friday, December 15 – Thursday, December 21

Final Exams

Monday, December 18

Change of grade due for INCs from the previous spring semester to carlett.thomas@liu.edu

Friday, December 22

Deadline to post grades

Winter recess begins

 

Spring 2018

Registration Deadline for Fall 2018: April 20, 2018

Australia Program

Monday, January 22 - Sunday, February 4

Registration and program changes

Thursday, January 25 Depart U.S.

Saturday, January 27

Arrive in Byron Bay, Australia

Sunday, January 28 – Monday, January 29

Orientation

Tuesday, January 30

Semester and classes begin

  Enrollment verification deadline
Friday, February 9 Last day to apply for May degree 

Friday, April 6

Last day to withdraw from undergrad course

Wednesday, April 25 – Sunday, May 13

Bali program

Monday, April 30 Change of grade due for INCs from the previous fall semester
Monday, May 7 Last day for full withdrawal
Last day to complete withdrawal appeal process

Sunday, May 13

Semester ends (in Bali)

Wednesday, May 16

Deadline to post grades

 

China Center

Monday, January 22

Semester begins

Monday, January 22 – Sunday, February 4 Registration and program changes
Tuesday, January 30 Enrollment verification deadline

Thursday, February 15 – Sunday, February 18

Chinese Lunar New Year Break

Friday, April 6 Last day to withdraw from undergrad course 
Monday, April 30 Change of grade due for INCs from the previous fall semester
Monday, May 7 Last day for full withdrawal
Last day to complete withdrawal appeal process

Friday, May 11

Semester ends

Monday, May 14

Deadline to post grades

 

Costa Rica Center

Saturday, January 13 – Sunday, January 14

Arrival on own

Monday, January 15

Semester begins

Monday, January 22 – Sunday, February 4 Registration and program changes
Tuesday, January 30 Enrollment verification deadline

Saturday, March 24 – Sunday, April 1

Center closed for Holy Week

Friday, April 6 Last day to withdraw from undergrad course
Monday, April 30 Change of grade due for INCs from the previous fall semester

Friday, May 4

Semester ends

Monday, May 7 Last day for full withdrawal
Last day to complete withdrawal appeal process

Tuesday, May 10

Deadline to post grades

 

Europe Program

Saturday, January 13

Students arrive in Vienna

Saturday, January 13 – Friday, January 26

Module 1: Vienna-Budapest

Monday, January 22 – Sunday, February 4 Registration and program changes

Saturday, January 27

Group arrives in Florence

Monday, January 29 – Friday, April 13 Module 2: Florence

Tuesday, January 30

Enrollment verification deadline

Saturday, March 24 – Tuesday, March 27

International Careers Festival (Rome)

Wednesday, March 28 – Friday, March 30 Rome Excursion
Friday, April 6 Last day to withdraw from undergrad course

Saturday, April 14 – Saturday, April 28

Module 3: Balkans Program

Friday, April 27 Last day of classes
Saturday, April 28 End of Europe Program

Monday, April 30

Change of grade due for INCs from the previous fall semester

Monday, May 7

Last day for full withdrawal
Last day to complete withdrawal appeal process

Thursday, May 10 Deadline to post grades

 

New York City Center

Monday, January 22

Semester begins

Monday, January 22 – Tuesday, January 23
Capstone Orientation

Monday, January 22 – Sunday, February 4

Registration and program changes

Tuesday, January 30

Enrollment verification deadline

Friday, February 9

Last day to apply for May degree

Monday, February 19

President's Day – no classes

Monday, March 12 – Friday, March 16

Spring recess

Monday, March 19 Classes resume

Monday, March 26 – Friday, March 30

Capstone Washington, D.C. trip

TBD Discovery Day

Wednesday, April 4 – Sunday, April 8

National Conference on Undergraduate Research (NCUR) at the University of Central Oklahoma

Friday, April 6 Last day to withdraw from undergrad

Friday, April 20

Senior Thesis deadline

Monday, April 30 Change of grade due for INCs from the previous fall semester

Monday, May 7

Semester ends
Last day for full withdrawal
Last day to withdraw from graduate courses
Last day to complete withdrawal appeal process

Thursday, May 10 Deadline to post grades

Friday, May 11

Senior Send Off

Tuesday, May 15

Commencement and Senior Recognition Ceremony (tentative)

Friday, May 18

Conferral of May degrees