Council of Overseers


Council of Overseers

These pharmacy, industry and community leaders fulfill a key advisory role for the college.
Members of the Council of Overseers work with the dean and faculty of the college providing advice on important strategic issues.


Leon Lachman H‘12, Ph.D.*

Sharon Sternheim*
Vice Chair


Salah U. Ahmed, Ph.D.
Stanley F. Barshay ‘60*
Herbert J. Conrad ‘54, ‘60 (M.S.), H‘91
Arash Dabestani
Ronald Del Gaudio, ‘79
Jay Dhaduk
Michael Fedida ‘72, ‘75 (M.S.)
Stephen M. Gross, Ed.D.
Ashraf Latif ‘91
Michael Melnicke*
Craig Ruffin ‘85, Pharm.D.
James R. Schiffer, ‘73, J.D.
Marie Smith Schwartz H‘76, ‘98
Martin Sperber H‘09*
Spiro Spireas, Ph.D.
Thomas Sutherland
Harvey Tanenbaum ‘65
Judith E. Tytel, J.D.

Overseers Emeriti
Ronald Demczak
Irwin C. Gerson H‘01
Jerry B. Gilbert H‘97
Frederick Klein ‘52
Mohammed Saleh ‘77 (M.S.)
Marvin M. Sirota ‘62

*University Trustee
**University Trustee Emeritus
H – indicates honorary doctorate from LIU


LIU Pharmacy
John M. Pezzuto, A.B., Ph.D.