Abraham Krasnoff Memorial Award for Scholarly Achievement

Since 1978, the trustees of Long Island University have honored, on an annual basis, faculty members from the University's residential campuses for either an outstanding single scholarly achievement or for a body of work accomplished during a lifetime. The Abraham Krasnoff Memorial Award for Scholarly Achievement, formerly known as the Trustees Award for Scholarly Achievement (TASA), was officially re-named in 2007 in honor of the late Abraham Krasnoff, a former trustee and chairman of the Board of Long Island University.

The process of selection calls for Krasnoff Award Selection Committees on each residential campus to issue a call for nominations and to review the scholarly work of each nominee. Upon receipt in the Office of Academic Affairs of the nominees from each campus, the nominations are sent to a jury of distinguished scholars and/or artists (independent of the University) to make the final awards selection. The jury members are asked to individually and collectively review the materials submitted by the nominees and to select up to five recipients in total.

Nominations are accompanied by supporting documentation (e.g., copies of books, articles, slides, recordings), as well as a vita and a brief biography. A seconding letter from a colleague accompanies the self-nominations. Nominees should have exhibited significant scholarly activity appropriate to the academic discipline as evidenced by peer-reviewed materials. Furthermore, a significant proportion of the scholarly activity should have been achieved while the nominee was employed at Long Island University.

Recipients of the Krasnoff Award are honored at the Krasnoff/Newton Awards ceremony, where they receive a monetary award and an engraved medal.

In 2005, with the approval of the Board of Trustees, the Krasnoff Award was changed to a biennial award that alternates between the recognition of a single scholarly work and the recognition of lifetime scholarly achievement.

Current Winners (2014):

James Bednarz, LIU Post
Steven Liebling, LIU Post
Louis Parascandola, LIU Brooklyn
Mark Shapiro, LIU Post