David Newton Awards for Excellence in Teaching

The David Newton Awards for Excellence in Teaching, were generously endowed in honor of the late Dr. David Newton, a former executive vice president of Long Island University, by the late Abraham Krasnoff, a former trustee and chairman of the Board of Long Island University. The Awards were first presented in 1988.

Each academic department or division across LIU Brooklyn, LIU Post and LIU Pharmacy campuses can nominate candidates and submit their names to a campus-based Newton Awards Committee. The Newton Awards Committee considers those applications that provide written documentation of the nominee's candidacy, including supporting materials. Documentation of teaching excellence is based on criteria such as presentation, attitude, expectations of students, and professional development and knowledge. The Newton Awards Committee then determines the final winner(s). There are three recipients from LIU Post; two from LIU Brooklyn; and one from LIU Pharmacy.

The recipients of the David Newton Awards for Excellence in Teaching are honored at the Krasnoff/Newton Awards ceremony. In recognition of their achievements, they receive a monetary award from the endowed fund established by Mr. Krasnoff, as well as a glass “apple” award engraved with their name.

Current Recipients (2015):

Tung-Lung Steven Chang, LIU Post
Patrick E. Horrigan, LIU Brooklyn
Brian Sweeney, LIU Post
Linda L. Vila, LIU Post
Wendi Williams, LIU Brooklyn
Tina Zerilli, LIU Pharmacy