Academic Calendar & Exam Schedules

Academic Calendar & Exam Schedules

Expand the tabs below to view a snap shot of all the important dates you need to be aware of each academic semester.

Final Exam Schedule
Notification of Student Rights Under Section 224-a of New York State Education Law –
Absence Due to Religious Observation

Under § 224-a of the NYS Education Law: "Any student in an institution of higher education who is unable, because of his or her religious beliefs, to attend classes on a particular day or days shall, because of such absence on the particular day or days, be excused from any examination or any study or work requirements. It shall be the responsibility of the faculty and of the administrative officials of each institution of higher education to make available to each student who is absent from school, because of his or her religious beliefs, an equivalent opportunity to register for classes or make up any examination, study or work requirements which he or she may have missed because of such absence on any particular day or days. No fees of any kind shall be charged by the institution for making available to the said student such equivalent opportunity."

Students who anticipate being absent because of a religious observance should, whenever possible, notify faculty in advance of such anticipated absence.


Labor Day-holiday Monday, September 2
Convocation Day Tuesday, September 3
Weekday classes begin Wednesday, September 4
Registration and program changes Wednesday, September 4 - Tuesday, September 17
First weekend session classes begin Saturday, September 7 - Sunday, September 8
Awarding of September degrees Friday, September 13
Registration and program changes end Tuesday, September 17
Last day to apply for comprehensive examination Friday, October 4
Spring 2020 Registration Begins Monday, October 7
Last day to apply for January degree Friday, October 18
First weekend session final examinations Saturday, October 19 - Sunday, October 20
Second weekend session classes begin Saturday, October 26 - Sunday, October 27
Election Day-classes in session Tuesday, November 5
Last day for full or partial withdrawal for full-term courses
Friday, November 8
Thanksgiving holiday Wednesday, November 27 - Sunday, December 1
Classes resume Monday, December 2
Second weekend session final examinations/ last class meeting Saturday, December 14 - Sunday, December 15
Semester classes meeting Monday through Friday end Friday, December 13
Last day to submit thesis Friday, December 13
Final examinations-undergraduate and graduate
Monday, December 16 - Friday, December 20
Winter recess begins
Saturday, December 21

Intersession Classes Begin Monday, January 6
Final Class Meeting/Final Exam Friday, January 17

Awarding of January degrees  Friday, January 17
Martin Luther King Day - no classes Monday, January 20
Weekday classes begin Tuesday, January 21
Registration and program changes Tuesday, January 21 - Monday, February 3
First weekend session classes begin Saturday, January 25 - Sunday, January 26
Registration and program changes end Monday, February 3
Summer 2020 Registration begins
Monday, February 10
Fall 2020 Priority Registration for Honors Students/Athletes
Wednesday - Thursday, February 12-13
Fall 2020 Registration begins Friday, February 14
President's Day - no classes Monday, February 17
Tuesday follows a Monday schedule Tuesday, February 18
Last day to apply for May degree Friday, February 21
First weekend session final examinations Saturday, March 7 - Sunday, March 8 
Spring recess begins Monday, March 9
Classes resume Monday, March 16
Second weekend session classes begin Saturday, March 21 - Sunday, March 22
Last day for withdrawal from full-semester classes Friday, April 3
Last day to submit thesis and complete degree requirements Friday, May 17
Second weekend session final examinations/ / Last Class Meeting 
Saturday, May 2 - Sunday, May 3
Semester classes meeting Monday through Friday end
Tuesday, May 5
Final examinations-undergraduate and graduate Wednesday, May 6 - Tuesday, May 12
Conferral of May degrees Friday, May 15
Commencement Ceremony
Wednesday, May 20