LIU Update: Visit here for more information.
STUDENT SERVICES

Academic Calendar


Notification of Student Rights Under Section 224-a of New York State Education Law – Absence Due to Religious Observation

Under § 224-a of the NYS Education Law: "Any student in an institution of higher education who is unable, because of his or her religious beliefs, to attend classes on a particular day or days shall, because of such absence on the particular day or days, be excused from any examination or any study or work requirements. It shall be the responsibility of the faculty and of the administrative officials of each institution of higher education to make available to each student who is absent from school, because of his or her religious beliefs, an equivalent opportunity to register for classes or make up any examination, study or work requirements which he or she may have missed because of such absence on any particular day or days. No fees of any kind shall be charged by the institution for making available to the said student such equivalent opportunity."

Students who anticipate being absent because of a religious observance should, whenever possible, notify faculty in advance of such anticipated absence.

Spring 2020
Awarding of January degrees  Friday, January 17
Martin Luther King Day - no classes Monday, January 20
Weekday classes begin Tuesday, January 21
Registration and program changes Tuesday, January 21 - Monday, February 3
Registration and program changes end Monday, February 3
Summer Registration begins (tentative) Monday, February 10
President's Day - no classes Monday, February 17
Tuesday follows a Monday schedule Tuesday, February 18
Fall 2020 Registration begins Friday, February 21           
Last day to apply for May degree Friday, February 21
Spring recess begins Monday, March 9
Classes resume Monday, March 16
Second weekend session classes begin Saturday, March 21 - Sunday, March 22
Last day for withdrawal/ Opt Pass/Fail for full-semester classes Friday, April 3
Semester classes meeting Monday through Friday end Tuesday, April 28
Class make-up/study days  Wednesday, April 29 - Thursday April 30
Final examinations-undergraduate and graduate Friday, May 1 - Thursday, May 7
Commencement Ceremony (tentative) Friday, May 8
Conferral of May degrees Friday, May 15

Summer I 2020


Weekday classes begin (1st Five Week, 10 week and 12 Week sessions)

Monday, May 18

Registration and program changes end for 5 Week Session

Tuesday, May 19

Registration and program changes end for 10 & 12 Week Sessions

Sunday, May 24

Memorial Day-NO CLASSES - Make up class date May 31

Monday, May 25

Make-up day for Memorial Day

Friday, May 29

Last day to withdraw (or Opt P/F) from courses

Thursday, June 11

Last day of class/Finals for 1st Five week Session

Thursday, June 18



Summer II 2020


Classes Begin - 2nd Five Week Session

Monday, June 22

Registration/Programs Changes for 2nd Five Week Session ends

Tuesday, June 23

Weekend Sessions Classes begin

Saturday, June 27

Registration/Programs Changes end for weekend classes

Monday, Julne 29

Independence Day - holiday - no weekend classes

Saturday, July 4

Last day to withdraw (or Opt P/F) from 10 & 12 week session

Thursday, July 9

Last day to apply for September degree

Friday , July 10

Last day to withdraw (or Opt P/F) from 2nd Five week session

Thursday, July 16

Last day to withdraw (or Opt P/F) from 12 week session

Thursday, July 23

Last Class/Finals for 2nd Five week and 10 week sessions

Thursday, July 23

 

Fall 2020

 

Labor Day-holiday

Monday, September 7

Weekday classes begin

Tuesday, September 8

Registration and program changes (after 9/14, approval needed to
add Lab Science courses)

Wednesday - Monday, September 8-21

First weekend session classes begin

Saturday-Sunday, September 12-13

Awarding of September degrees

Friday, September 18

Registration and program changes end

Monday, September 21

Columbus Day - Classes in session

Monday, October 12

Spring 2021 Registration Begins for Continuing Students

Monday, October 12

Last day to apply for January degree

Friday, October 30

Second weekend session classes begin

Saturday-Sunday, October 31-Nov 1

Election Day-NO CLASSES

Tuesday, November 3

Last day for withdrawal/Opt Pass/Fail for full-semester classes

Friday, November 13

Thanksgiving holiday

Wednesday, November 25 - Sunday, November 29

Classes resume

Monday, November 30

Last day of weekday classes

Friday, December 11

Class make-up/study days

Monday - Tuesday, December 14-15

Final examinations-undergraduate and graduate

Wednesday - Tuesday, December 16 - 22

Final Exam Make-Up day (in event of snow closure)

Wednesday, December 23

Winter recess begins

Thursday, December 24