LIU Update: Visit here for more information.

Academic Calendar & Exam Schedule

Academic Calendar & Exam Schedules

Expand the tabs below to view a snap shot of all the important dates you need to be aware of each academic semester.

Final Exam Schedule

Notification of Student Rights Under Section 224-a of New York State Education Law –
Absence Due to Religious Observation

Under § 224-a of the NYS Education Law: "Any student in an institution of higher education who is unable, because of his or her religious beliefs, to attend classes on a particular day or days shall, because of such absence on the particular day or days, be excused from any examination or any study or work requirements. It shall be the responsibility of the faculty and of the administrative officials of each institution of higher education to make available to each student who is absent from school, because of his or her religious beliefs, an equivalent opportunity to register for classes or make up any examination, study or work requirements which he or she may have missed because of such absence on any particular day or days. No fees of any kind shall be charged by the institution for making available to the said student such equivalent opportunity."

Students who anticipate being absent because of a religious observance should, whenever possible, notify faculty in advance of such anticipated absence.


Labor Day-holiday Monday, September 7
Weekday classes begin Tuesday, September 8
Registration and program changes (after 9/14, approval needed to
add Lab Science courses)
Wednesday - Monday, September 8-21
First weekend session classes begin Saturday-Sunday, September 12-13
Awarding of September degrees Friday, September 18
Registration and program changes end Monday, September 21
Columbus Day - Classes in session Monday, October 12
Spring 2021 Registration Begins for Continuing Students Monday, October 12
Last day to apply for January degree Friday, October 30
Second weekend session classes begin Saturday-Sunday, October 31-Nov 1
Election Day-NO CLASSES Tuesday, November 3
Last day for withdrawal/Opt Pass/Fail for full-semester classes Friday, November 13
Thanksgiving holiday Wednesday, November 25 - Sunday, November 29
Classes resume Monday, November 30
Last day of weekday classes Friday, December 11
Class make-up/study days Monday - Tuesday, December 14-15
Final examinations-undergraduate and graduate Wednesday - Tuesday, December 16 - 22
Final Exam Make-Up day (in event of snow closure) Wednesday, December 23
Winter recess begins Thursday, December 24



Martin Luther King Day - no classes Monday, January 18
Weekday classes begin Tuesday, January 19
Registration and program changes
(after 1/25 permission needed for lab courses)
Tuesday, January 19 - Monday, February 1
First weekend session classes begin Saturday, January 23 - Sunday, January 24
Registration and program changes end Monday, February 1
President's Day - No Classes
Monday, February 15
Tuesday follows a Monday Schedule
Tuesday, February 16
Summer Registration begins (tentative)
Tuesday, February 16
Fall 2020 Priority Registration for Honors Students/Athletes (tentative)
Tuesday - Thursday , February 16-18
Fall 2020 Registration begins (tentative) Friday, February 19
Last day to apply for May degree Friday, February 26
Spring recess begins Monday, March 8
Classes resume Monday, March 15
Second weekend session classes begin Saturday, March 20 - Sunday, March 21
Last day for withdrawal/ Opt Pass/ Fail for full-semester classes Friday, April 2
Semester classes meeting Monday through Friday end
Tuesday, April 27
Class make-up/ study days  Wednesday, April 28 - Thursday April 29
Final examinations-undergraduate and graduate Friday, April 30 - Thursday, May 6
Commencement Ceremony (tentative)
Friday, May 7
Conferral of May degrees Friday, May 14
Monday, March 9
Monday, March 9
Monday, March 9