Academic Calendar & Exam Schedules

Academic Calendar & Exam Schedules

Expand the tabs below to view a snap shot of all the important dates you need to be aware of each academic semester.

Final Exam Schedule
Notification of Student Rights Under Section 224-a of New York State Education Law –
Absence Due to Religious Observation

Under § 224-a of the NYS Education Law: "Any student in an institution of higher education who is unable, because of his or her religious beliefs, to attend classes on a particular day or days shall, because of such absence on the particular day or days, be excused from any examination or any study or work requirements. It shall be the responsibility of the faculty and of the administrative officials of each institution of higher education to make available to each student who is absent from school, because of his or her religious beliefs, an equivalent opportunity to register for classes or make up any examination, study or work requirements which he or she may have missed because of such absence on any particular day or days. No fees of any kind shall be charged by the institution for making available to the said student such equivalent opportunity."

Students who anticipate being absent because of a religious observance should, whenever possible, notify faculty in advance of such anticipated absence.


Weekday classes begin Monday, February 1
Registration and program changes Monday, February 1 - Sunday, February 14
First weekend session classes begin Saturday, February 6- Sunday, February 7
Registration and program changes end Sunday, February 14
President's Day - CLASSES IN SESSION
Monday, February 15
Last day to apply for May degree Friday, February 26
Summer Registration begins (tentative)
Tuesday, March 2
Fall 2021 Priority Registration for Honors Students/Athletes (tentative)
Tuesday March 2 - Thursday March 4
Fall 2021 Registration begins (tentative) Friday, March 5
First weekend session final examinations Saturday, March 20 - Sunday, March 21
Second weekend session classes begin Saturday, March 27 - Sunday, March 28
Last day for withdrawal from full-semester classes Friday, April 9
Second weekend session final examinations/Last Class Meeting 
Saturday, May 8 - Sunday, May 9
Semester classes meeting Monday through Friday end
Friday, May 7
Final examinations-undergraduate and graduate Monday May 10 - Friday, May 14
Conferral of May degrees Friday, May 21
Commencement Ceremony
Tuesday, May 18, 2021

Summer 2020

LIU Brooklyn Spring 2021 Calendar



Summer 1 2021
Weekend session classes begin Saturday-Sunday, May 15-16
Last day to add Weekend Session Class Monday, May 17
Weekday classes begin Monday, May 17
Registration and program changes end for weekday classes Tuesday, May 18
Memorial Day-holiday Saturday-Monday, May 29-31
Last day for withdrawal from Summer 1 classes Tuesday, June 15
Last day of weekday classes Monday, June 28
Final Exams Summer 1 During Last Class Meeting
Independence Day holiday - No Weekend Classes
Saturday-Sunday, July 3-4
Weekend session final examinations/Last Class Meetings Saturday-Sunday, July 10-11


Summer II 2021
 Independence Day - University Holiday - No Classes
Monday, July 5
Weekday Classes begin - Summer II
Monday, July 6
Registration and program changes end for weekday classes Tuesday, July 7
Last day to apply for Summer degree Friday , July 9
Last day to apply for comprehensive examination Friday , July 9
Weekend session classes begin Saturday-Sunday, July 17-18
Last day to add Weekend Session Class Monday, July 19
Last day for withdrawal from Summer II classes Friday, July 30
Last weekday class Friday, August 13
Final Exams Summer 2 During Last Class Meeting
Last day to submit thesis and complete degree requirements Friday, August 13
Weekend session final examinations Saturday-Sunday, August 28-29
 Summer Degrees Conferred
Tuesday, August 31

Labor Day-holiday Monday, September 6
Weekday classes begin Wednesday, September 8
Registration and program changes Wednesday-Tuesday, September 8-21
First weekend session classes begin Saturday-Sunday, September 11-12
Registration and program changes end Tuesday, September 21
Last day to apply for comprehensive examination Friday, October 8
Spring 2022 Registration Begins TBD
First weekend session final examinations Saturday-Sunday, October 23-24
Last day to apply for January degree Friday, October 29
Second weekend session classes begin Saturday-Sunday, October 30-31
Election Day-classes in session Tuesday, November 2
Last day for full/partial withdrawal for full-semester courses
Friday, November 12
Wednesday classes don't meet/Wednesday follows a Friday schedule Wednesday, November 24
Thanksgiving holiday - no classes Thursday, November 25 - Sunday, November 28
Classes resume Monday, November 29
Last day of regular classes Thursday, December 16
Final examinations-undergraduate and graduate Friday, December 17 - Thursday December 23
Second weekend session final examinations/last class meeting Saturday-Sunday, December 18-19
Last day to submit thesis Friday, December 17
Winter recess begins Friday, December 24