Return to Faculty List


Yoonsun Mo

Associate Professor of Pharmacy Practice

Pharm.D., M.S., Creighton University


Yoonsun Mo received her Doctor of Pharmacy and Master of Sciences in Pharmaceutical Sciences from Creighton University in Omaha, Nebraska. She then completed a PGY-1 Pharmacy Practice Residency at Barnes-Jewish Hospital in St. Louis, Missouri and a PGY-2 residency in Critical Care at University of Washington Medical Center in Seattle, Washington. Following residency, She started her career as a Surgery/Trauma Intensive Care Unit (ICU) clinical pharmacist at Cedars-Sinai Medical Center. Prior to joining LIU Pharmacy, Dr. Mo was an Assistant Professor in the Department of Pharmacy Practice at the Western New England University College of Pharmacy in Springfield, Massachusetts and served as an ICU pharmacy specialist at Mercy Medical Center. Dr. Mo is board certified in pharmacotherapy as well as critical care. She has authored a number of peer-reviewed publications and she is a member of American College of Clinical Pharmacy and Society of Critical Care Medicine. Her research interests lie in the area of critical care medicine, including pain/sedation/delirium practices, anticoagulation/hemostasis management, sepsis, nosocomial infections, etc. She is currently practicing in the medical ICU and precepting pharmacy students at Brookdale University Hospital and Medical Center in Brooklyn, New York.


Critical Care


Mo Y, Thomas MC, Antigua AD, Ebied AM, Karras GE Jr. Continous Lidocaine Infusion as Adjunctive Analgesia in Intensive Care Unit Patients. J Clin Pharmacol. 2017;57:830-836.

Mo Y, Nehring F, Jung AH, Housman ST. Possible Hepatotoxicity Associated With Daptomycin: A Case Report and Literature Review. J Pharm Pract. 2016;29:253-6. 

Mo Y, Zimmermann AE, Thomas MC. Practice Patterns and Opinions on Current Clinical Practice Guidelines Regarding the Management of Delirium in the Intensive Care Unit. J Pharm Pract. 2017;30:162-171.

Mo Y, Thomas MC, Karras GE Jr. Barbiturates for the treatment of alcohol withdrawal syndrome: A systematic review of clinical trials. J Crit Care. 2016;32:101-7.

Mo Y, Scheer C, Abdallah GT. Emerging Role of Melatonin and Melatonin Receptor Agonists in Sleep and Delirium in Intensive Care Unit Patients. J Intensive Care Med. 2016;31:451-5. 

Mo Y, Yam FK. Rational Use of Second-Generation Antipsychotics for the Treatment of ICU Delirium: A Neuropharmacological Approach. J Pharm Pract. 2017;30:121-129.

Mo Y, Yam FK. Recent Advances in the Development of Specific Antidotes for Target-Specific Oral Anticoagulant. Pharmacotherapy. 2015;35:198-207.

Mo Y, Zimmermann AE. Role of dexmedetomidine for the prevention and treatment of delirium in intensive care unit patients. Ann Pharmacother. 2013;47: 869-876.

Lectures and Presentations

Lecturer, “Update on Direct Oral Anticoagulants,” presented at Clarion Hotel & Conference, Western Massachusetts Pharamcy Association (WMPhA), MA, 2016

Poster presenter, “Effect of modafinil on cognitive function in intensive care unit patients: A retrospective cohort study,” presented at American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP) Midyear Clinical Meeting, Las Vegas, Nevada, 2016

Poster presenter, “Current practice patterns in the management of alcohol withdrawal syndrome: A case-based survey,” presented at American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP) Midyear Clinical Meeting, Las Vegas, Nevada, 2016

Snapshot presenter, “Continuous Lidocaine Infusion as Adjunctive Analgesic Therapy in Intensive Care Unit Patients,’’ presented at Society of Critical Care Medicine (SCCM) Critical Care Congress, Honolulu, Hawaii, 2017


Recipient, Friends of Nursing Award, Cedars-Sinai Medical Center

Recipient, “Pride in Pharmacy” Scholarship, Creighton University

Recipient, P.E.O International Peace Scholarship

Recipient, American Association of Pharmaceutical Scientists-American Foundation for Pharmaceutical Education (AAPS-AFPE) “Gateway” Research Scholarship

American College of Clinical Pharmacy (ACCP)

         -Member, Critical Care PRN Travel Awards Committee

         -Member, Critical Care PRN Research Committee

         -Member, ACCP RI Futures Grants Review Committee


Society of Critical Care Medicine (SCCM)

         -Member, Clinical Pharmacy and Pharmacology (CPP) Research Committee