71st Annual Polk Award Winners​

National Reporting

Immigration Coverage
Lomi Kriel
Houston Chronicle

International Reporting

Tracking War Crimes
The New York Times

Local Reporting

Taxi Medallion Scandal
Brian M. Rosenthal
The New York Times

Metropolitan Reporting

“Long Island Divided”

Military Reporting

The Afghanistan Papers
Craig Whitlock
The Washington Post

Business Reporting

Boeing’s 737 Max
Dominic Gates
Mike Baker
Steve Miletich
Lewis Kamb
The Seattle Times

Television Reporting

China’s Hidden Camps
John Sudworth
BBC News

Special Award

The 1619 Project
Nikole Hannah-Jones
and Contributors
The New York Times

Magazine Reporting

“The Dispossessed”
Lizzie Presser
Published in The New Yorker

Environmental Reporting

Suppressed Climate Research
Helena Bottemiller Evich

Justice Reporting

“Beaten, then Silenced”
Lisa Gartner
The Philadelphia Enquirer

Financial Reporting

Opportunity Zones
Noah Buhayar
Caleb Melby
David Kocieniewski
Bloomberg News

Political Reporting

City Hall Scandals
Luke Broadwater and Staff
The Baltimore Sun

Chance Swaim
Jonathan Shorman
Dion Lefler
The Wichita Eagle

Foreign Reporting

Central American Violence
Azam Ahmed
The New York Times

About Submissions

Attn: Ralph Engelman
The George Polk Awards

© The George Polk Awards — Long Island University, 1 University Plaza, Brooklyn NY 11201