MUSIC

Music Faculty

Brass | Coaching/Accompaniment | Conducting | Ensembles | Guitar | Jazz | Music Education | Musicianship | Percussion | Piano | Strings | Technology/Production | Voice | Woodwinds

 

BRASS

Curtis Hasselbring (Jazz Trombone)
B.M. Jazz Performance, New England Conservatory
M.M. Jazz Performance, Mason Gross School of the Arts at Rutgers University
curtis.hasselbring@liu.edu

Andrew Madej (Tuba, Euphonium)
Director, LIU Post Brass Ensemble
B.M., Oberlin Conservatory of Music
M.M., New England Conservatory of Music
andrew.madej@liu.edu

Jeanine Nagao (French Horn)
B.M. and M.M. in Horn Performance, The Juilliard School
D.M.A. in Horn Performance, State University of New York at Stony Brook
jeanine.nagao@liu.edu

Bradley Siroky (Trumpet)
B.M., M.M., Manhattan School of Music
bradley.siroky@liu.edu

Ronald Stanton (Trombone, Euphonium)
Director, Brass Studies
B.S., Hofstra University
M.M., Queens College, CUNY
ronald.stanton@liu.edu

[Back to Top]

COACHING AND ACCOMPANIMENT

Christine Doré (Instrumental Coaching)
B.M., New England Conservatory
M.M., Mannes College of Music
christine.dore@liu.edu

Richard Iacona (Vocal Jazz Coaching)
B.S., University of North Carolina at Pembroke
M.A., Long Island University
richard.iacona@liu.edu

Victoria Schwartzman (Vocal Coaching)
B.M., Piano Performance, Longy School of Music of Bard College
M.M., Piano Performance, Longy School of Music of Bard College
Artist Diploma, Longy School of Music of Bard College
Graduate Diploma, Collaborative Piano, New England Conservatory
victoria.schwartzman@liu.edu

Heawon Stuckenbruck (Instrumental Coaching)
Member, Pierrot Consort
B.M., M.M., Manhattan School of Music
violin-saw.com/heawonkimpianist.html
heawon.stuckenbruck@liu.edu

[Back to Top]

CONDUCTING

Susan Deaver
Co-Founder & Festival Director, LIU Post Chamber Music Festival
Conductor, Chamber Music Festival Orchestra
Director, LIU Post Flute Ensemble
Member, Pierrot Consort
B.M., M.M., D.M.A., Manhattan School of Music
susan.deaver@liu.edu

Maureen Hynes
Director of Orchestral and String Studies
Director, LIU Post Orchestra
Director, String Ensemble
Director, Merriweather Consort
Member, Pierrot Consort
Co-Founder, LIU Post Chamber Music Festival
B.M., M.M., Manhattan School of Music
maureen.hynes@liu.edu

James McRoy
Chair, Department of Music
Director, Bands
Director, LIU Post Wind Symphony
Director, LIU Post Wind Ensemble
Director, LIU Post Pep Band
B.A., M.S., Queens College, CUNY (Aaron Copland School of Music)
D.A., Ball State University
http://jamesmcroy.net
james.mcroy@liu.edu

Jennifer Scott Miceli
Director, Music Education
Director, Long Island Sound Vocal Jazz
Conductor, LIU Post Women's Choir
B.M., University of Hartford (Hartt School of Music)
M.M., Ph.D., University of Rochester (Eastman School of Music)
jennifer.miceli@liu.edu

Eric Stewart
B.M., M.M., Composition, Peabody Conservatory of Music
D.M.A., Composition, University of Toronto
eric.stewart@liu.edu

[Back to Top]

ENSEMBLES

Bands – James McRoy
Chair, Department of Music
Director, Bands
Director, LIU Post Wind Symphony
Director, LIU Post Wind Ensemble
B.A., M.S., Queens College, CUNY (Aaron Copland School of Music)
D.A., Ball State University
http://jamesmcroy.net
james.mcroy@liu.edu

Brass – Andrew Madej
Director, LIU Post Brass Ensemble
B.M., Oberlin Conservatory of Music
M.M., New England Conservatory of Music
andrew.madej@liu.edu

Chorus – Edward Norris
Director, LIU Post Chorus
B.A., M.S., Queens College, CUNY (Aaron Copland School of Music)
edward.norris@liu.edu

Flute – Susan Deaver
Co-Founder & Festival Director, LIU Post Chamber Music Festival
Conductor, Chamber Music Festival Orchestra
Director, LIU Post Flute Ensemble
Member, Pierrot Consort
B.M., M.M., D.M.A., Manhattan School of Music
susan.deaver@liu.edu

Guitar – Harris Becker
Director, Guitar Studies
Director, LIU Post Guitar Ensemble
Director, Long Island Guitar Festival
B.A., M.A., Long Island University
www.harrisbecker.com
harris.becker@liu.edu

Jazz Ensemble and Jazz Combo (Instrumental) – Jeff Lederer
Director, MTEP Program
Director, LIU Post Jazz Ensemble
Director, LIU Post Jazz Combo
B.A., Oberlin College
M.M., Woodwind Performance, Western Michigan University
jeffrey.lederer@liu.edu

Jazz (Vocal) – Jennifer Scott Miceli
Director, Music Education
Director, Long Island Sound Vocal Jazz
Conductor, LIU Post Women's Choir
B.M., University of Hartford (Hartt School of Music)
M.M., Ph.D., University of Rochester (Eastman School of Music)
jennifer.miceli@liu.edu

Orchestra – Maureen Hynes
Director of Orchestral and String Studies
Director, LIU Post Orchestra
Director, String Ensemble
Director, Merriweather Consort
Member, Pierrot Consort
Co-Founder, LIU Post Chamber Music Festival
B.M., M.M., Manhattan School of Music
maureen.hynes@liu.edu

Percussion – Frank Cassara
Director, Percussion Studies
Director, LIU Post Percussion Ensemble
B.M., M.M., Manhattan School of Music
www.frankcassara.com
frank.cassara@liu.edu

String – Maureen Hynes
Director of Orchestral and String Studies
Director, LIU Post Orchestra
Director, String Ensemble
Director, Merriweather Consort
Member, Pierrot Consort
Co-Founder, LIU Post Chamber Music Festival
B.M., M.M., Manhattan School of Music
maureen.hynes@liu.edu

[Back to Top]

GUITAR

Harris Becker (Classical Guitar and Lute)
Director, Guitar Studies
Director, LIU Post Guitar Ensemble
Director, Long Island Guitar Festival
B.A., M.A., Long Island University
www.harrisbecker.com
harris.becker@liu.edu

James Erickson
B.F.A., M.A, Long Island University
www.ericksonguitar.net
james.erickson@liu.edu

Mark Marino (Jazz Guitar)
mark.marino@liu.edu

[Back to Top]

JAZZ

Curtis Hasselbring (Jazz Trombone)
B.M. Jazz Performance, New England Conservatory
M.M. Jazz Performance, Mason Gross School of the Arts at Rutgers University
curtis.hasselbring@liu.edu

Richard Iacona (Jazz Piano, Vocal Jazz Coaching)
B.S., University of North Carolina at Pembroke
M.A., Long Island University
richard.iacona@liu.edu

Jeff Lederer (Jazz Saxophone)
Director, MTEP Program
Director, LIU Post Jazz Ensemble
Director, LIU Post Jazz Combo
B.A., Oberlin College
M.M., Woodwind Performance, Western Michigan University
jeffrey.lederer@liu.edu

Mark Marino (Jazz Guitar)
mark.marino@liu.edu

Jennifer Scott Miceli (Vocal Jazz)
Director, Music Education
Director, Long Island Sound Vocal Jazz
Conductor, LIU Post Women's Choir
B.M., University of Hartford (Hartt School of Music)
M.M., Ph.D., University of Rochester (Eastman School of Music)
jennifer.miceli@liu.edu

Brian Pareschi (Jazz Trumpet)
B.A., University of Rochester
M.M., Manhattan School of Music
brian.pareschi@liu.edu

John Ray (Jazz Bass)
Manhattan School of Music
john.ray@liu.edu

[Back to Top]

MUSIC EDUCATION

Edmund Chiarello
B.S. Music Education, M.A. Secondary Education, Hofstra University
Specialist Diploma; School Administration and Supervision, CUNY at Queens College
edmund.chiarello@liu.edu

Levana V. Cohen
B.M., Washington State University
M.M., Stony Brook University
D.M.A., Stony Brook University
levana.cohen@liu.edu

Karen Gellert
B.A., M.M., Manhattan School of Music
karen.gellert@liu.edu

Danielle McRoy
B.A., State University of New York at Geneseo
M.A., Long Island University
Ed.D., Teachers College, Columbia University
danielle.mcroy@liu.edu

James McRoy
Chair, Department of Music
Director, Bands
Director, LIU Post Wind Symphony
Director, LIU Post Wind Ensemble
Director, LIU Post Pep Band
B.A., M.S., Queens College, CUNY (Aaron Copland School of Music)
D.A., Ball State University
http://jamesmcroy.net
james.mcroy@liu.edu

John Meschi
Director, Music Technology
B.S., New York University
M.A., Long Island University
http://myweb.liu.edu/jmeschi/
john.meschi@liu.edu

Jennifer Scott Miceli
Director, Music Education
Director, Long Island Sound Vocal Jazz
Conductor, LIU Post Women's Choir
B.M., University of Hartford (Hartt School of Music)
M.M., Ph.D., University of Rochester (Eastman School of Music)
jennifer.miceli@liu.edu

Anthony Pinelli
B.M. Music Education, Ithaca College
M.L.S., State University of New York at Stony Brook
anthony.pinell@liu.edu

[Back to Top]

MUSICIANSHIP

Richard Iacona (Theory, Composition)
B.S., University of North Carolina at Pembroke
M.A., Long Island University
richard.iacona@liu.edu

Paul Kim (History, Keyboard Harmony, Theory)
Director, Graduate Studies
B.M., M.M., Manhattan School of Music
Ph.D., New York University
paul.kim@liu.edu

Jeff Lederer (Jazz Theory and History)
Director, MTEP Program
Director, LIU Post Jazz Ensemble
Director, LIU Post Jazz Combo
B.A., Oberlin College
M.M., Woodwind Performance, Western Michigan University
jeffrey.lederer@liu.edu

Carl Strommen (Theory, Composition)
B.A., Long Island University
M.A., City University of New York
carl.strommen@liu.edu

Eric Stewart (Aural Skills, Theory)
B.M., M.M., Composition, Peabody Conservatory of Music
D.M.A., Composition, University of Toronto
eric.stewart@liu.edu

Stephanie Watt (Aural Skills, Theory)
Director, Music Theory
Director, Piano Studies
Director, Keyboard Club Concert Series
B.F.A., M.A., Long Island University
stephanie.watt@liu.edu

[Back to Top]

PERCUSSION

Frank Cassara
Director, Percussion Studies
Director, LIU Post Percussion Ensemble
B.M., M.M., Manhattan School of Music
www.frankcassara.com
frank.cassara@liu.edu

[Back to Top]

PIANO

Eugene Feigin
B.M., Music College of Moscow 
M.M., Gorky State Conservatory
eugene.feigin@liu.edu

David Holzman
B.M., Mannes College of Music
M.M., Queens College, CUNY (Aaron Copland School of Music)
www.battlemuse.com
david.holzman@liu.edu

Richard Iacona (Jazz)
B.S., University of North Carolina at Pembroke
M.A., Long Island University
richard.iacona@liu.edu

AeRee Kim
M.M., The Juilliard School of Music
D.M.A., State University of New York at Stony Brook
aeree.kim@liu.edu

Paul Kim
Director, Graduate Studies
B.M., M.M., Manhattan School of Music
Ph.D., New York University
paul.kim@liu.edu

Stephanie Watt
Director, Piano Studies
Director, Music Theory
Director, Keyboard Club Concert Series
B.F.A., M.A., Long Island University
stephanie.watt@liu.edu

[Back to Top]

STRINGS

Karen Gellert (Bass)
B.A., M.M., Manhattan School of Music
karen.gellert@liu.edu

Maureen Hynes (Cello)
Director of Orchestral and String Studies
Director, LIU Post Orchestra
Director, String Ensemble
Director, Merriweather Consort
Member, Pierrot Consort
Co-Founder, LIU Post Chamber Music Festival
B.M., M.M., Manhattan School of Music
maureen.hynes@liu.edu

John Ray (Jazz Bass)
Manhattan School of Music
john.ray@liu.edu

Veronica Salas (Viola)
Member, Pierrot Consort
D.M.A., M.M.A., B.M.A., Juilliard School of Music
veronica.sales@liu.edu

Dale Stuckenbruck (Violin)
Assistant Director, LIU Post Chamber Music Festival
Member, Pierrot Consort
B.M., North Carolina School of Performing Arts
M.M., D.M.A., Manhattan School of Music
violin-saw.com/daleviolinist.html
dalestruckenbruck@liu.edu

[Back to Top]

TECHNOLOGY AND PRODUCTION

Curtis Hasselbring
B.M. Jazz Performance, New England Conservatory
M.M. Jazz Performance, Mason Gross School of the Arts at Rutgers University
curtis.hasselbring@liu.edu

Jeff Lederer
Director, MTEP Program
Director, LIU Post Jazz Ensemble
Director, LIU Post Jazz Combo
B.A., Oberlin College
M.M., Woodwind Performance, Western Michigan University
jeffrey.lederer@liu.edu

John Meschi
Director, Music Technology
B.S., New York University
M.A., Long Island University
myweb.liu.edu/jmeschi
john.meschi@liu.edu

[Back to Top]

VOICE

Jeffrey Behrens (Tenor)
B.F.A., Carnegie Mellon
M.M., The Julliard School
Artist Diploma; Julliard Opera Center, The Julliard School
jeffrey.behrens@liu.edu

Barbara Fusco (Mezzo-Soprano)
B.A., Graduate Studies, Long Island University
barbara.fusco@liu.edu

Marla Waterman (Soprano)
B.A., Wells College
M.M., Northwestern University
maria.waterman@liu.edu

[Back to Top]

WOODWINDS

Levana V. Cohen (Clarinet)
B.M., Washington State University
M.M., Stony Brook University
D.M.A., Stony Brook University
levana.cohen@liu.edu

Susan Deaver (Flute)
Co-Founder & Festival Director, LIU Post Chamber Music Festival
Conductor, Chamber Music Festival Orchestra
Director, LIU Post Flute Ensemble
Member, Pierrot Consort
B.M., M.M., D.M.A., Manhattan School of Music
susan.deaver@liu.edu

Alexander Hamlin (Saxophone)
B.M. in Saxophone Performance, Eastman School of Music
alexander.hamlin@liu.edu

Jeff Lederer (Jazz Saxophone)
Director, MTEP Program
Director, LIU Post Jazz Ensemble
Director, LIU Post Jazz Combo
B.A., Oberlin College
M.M., Woodwind Performance, Western Michigan University
jeffrey.lederer@liu.edu

Karla Moe (Flute)
Director, Woodwind Studies
B.A., St. Olaf College
M.M., Manhattan School of Music
karla.moe@liu.edu

Valerie Sulzinski (Oboe, English horn)
B.F.A., State University of New York at Purchase
M.M., Queens College, CUNY (Aaron Copland School of Music)
valerie.sulzinski@liu.edu


CONTACT

College of Arts, Communications & Design
Dr. Jennifer Holmes, Dean
Kahn 100, Kahn Hall
Post-CACD@LIU.edu